jennie kay

Q is for Quote

“Over and over again I have said that there is no way out of the present impasse. If we were wide awake we would be instantly struck by the horrors which surround us … We would drop our tools, quit our jobs, deny our obligations, pay no taxes, observe no laws, and so on. Could the man or woman who is thoroughly awakened possibly do the crazy things which are now expected of him or her every moment of the day?” – Henry Miller, The World of Sex

This quote, found on a piece of paper in my best friends handwriting, changed my life. I still have the piece of paper almost seventeen years later, and it still holds as impressive to me now as it did then. I continue to ask myself the balance between the crazy things which are expected of us every moment of every day and being truly awake. When I find it, I’ll let you know.

This entry was published on July 21, 2013 at 1:44 am and is filed under A-Z: The Twenty-Six Day Creative Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

